Print this page
Rate this item
(0 votes)
in News

Simon Clarke MP elected to Treasury Select Committee

By Published February 08, 2018

Simon Clarke MP has today been elected by fellow Members of Parliament to serve on Parliament’s influential Treasury Select Committee.

The Treasury Committee, made up of 11 MPs, is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue & Customs, and associated public bodies, including the Bank of England and the Financial Conduct Authority.   A vacancy arose after Kit Malthouse was recently appointed as a Minister at the Department for Work and Pensions.

Following his election, Simon Clarke said:

“I am delighted to have been elected to serve on this crucial committee and I am looking forward to the hard work ahead.  At a time when our financial institutions are under unprecedented scrutiny, I look forward to working with the Committee to ensure our economy works for ordinary people.  I also look forward to being a strong voice for the North East on the Committee and to ensuring that Government policy delivers for our area.”


Read 415 times
Login to post comments